It’s not Wright, but it is still worth looking at!

(c) Mark Hertzberg

Image

This is a Frank Lloyd Wright blog, but, heck, it’s mine, so I can post other things, too! I was struck by the sun at 10 a.m. when I looked in the sanctuary of the historic First Presbyterian Church in Racine today. The wide shot with the piano is what I first saw. That drew me to the tighter shots. I had biked to the church. I have been commissioned to write a book for their 175th anniversary and was there for an editing meeting, so I didn’t have “real” cameras and lenses. These were all shot with my “bike camera,” a pocket Canon SD 780 IS point and shoot. I picked that model a few years ago because it has a viewfinder.  Thanks to Michael Zacks of Zacks Camera Repair in Providence, RI for fixing the zoom a month ago!

I have not abandoned Wright…there are some goodies coming to this blog in the next few weeks!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

2 thoughts on “It’s not Wright, but it is still worth looking at!

    • This is a good observation. White settlement of Racine began in 1834. The church was founded in 1839. This building was designed in 1848. The early white settlers of Racine, and Bradley (who moved here from St. Louis) were generally from New York state and New England.

Leave a Reply

